Cannot down load sketch

After installing the IDE, the the LED L (near pin 13) started to blink. From sketch prepare a simple blinking LED, verified and selected download but and error message appeared. The red LED on the breadboard was not blinking. Obviously there is no 5 volts supply. The LED L on the UNO continue to blink. Please help.

IMG_3472.jpg

IMG_3474.jpg

Don’t post screenshots of text! That is very unhelpful. When you encounter an error you’ll see a button on the right side of the orange bar “Copy error messages”. Click that button. Paste the error in a message here USING CODE TAGS (</> button on the toolbar). It is almost never appropriate to post screenshots but in some cases it is helpful to post images. You should attach and embed the image following these instructions:

The correct term is “upload”, not “download”.

Looks like you did not select the correct COM port in the IDE. COM 1 is usually not the Arduino.

Thanks for responding. I am new to Arduino.

My COM port is correct. I verified by disconnecting & reconnecting the USB cable.

No response when clicking "Copy Error Message". Nothing happens.

Checking further, changed the "int redLED" from pin 9 to pin 13 on the UNO. No change in the LED blinking on the UNO.

vchan2327:
No response when clicking “Copy Error Message”. Nothing happens.

When you click that button it copies the errors to the clipboard. Which allows you to then easily paste the text here on the forum. You’re not going to see any visible action when you click the button. Do you understand how to copy and paste? If not, you need to learn right now because it’s an essential skill.

Please do this:

• File > Preferences > Show verbose output during: > compilation (uncheck) > upload (check) > OK
  • Sketch > Upload
  • After the upload fails you’ll see a button on the right side of the orange bar “Copy error messages”. Click that button.
  • Paste the error messages in a reply here USING CODE TAGS (</> button on the toolbar).