Cannot get any sketches to upload.

Hi,

I have never had a problem uploading sketches before, until today. The only thing I have done different today is use a different laptop (this one is a windows rather than mac). I keep getting this error message:

avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "\.\COM1": The system cannot find the file specified.

I thought it might be set to the wrong port, but the port option in the toolbar menu is greyed out. I have also tried changing the programmer bit in the toolbar menu, but that has not worked either. Any ideas?

regards, Glen

UPDATE,

Im also using a motor shield, I have never used one before. Do I have to use a motor shield library? could that be the problem?

I would think that your problem is driver related. Have a look inside the Device Manager to see if the drivers for your Arduino are properly loaded.

You can access the device manager by "right-clicking" on My Computer from the start menu. In the list that pops up you would then select manage which will open another window. From that window you will be able to open the device manager by selecting it from the list on the left.

Once inside the Device Manager you should be able to find the arduino under "Ports COM and LPT" if the drivers are correctly loaded. If not it will most likely be entered under "Other devices" in which case you will need to install the appropriate drivers.

Let me know if that helps, good luck.

Greetings,

I am having the same exact problem. It started about 2 days ago when I let windows install some updates. I am guessing that it has something to do with a security upgrade since the Arduino drivers are not signed by Microsoft.