cannot get correct and formatted data from gps

Hello, I am new in arduino programming. I have recently started a project on gps tracking. I have interfaced gps with arduino uno(Tx to Rx). BUt in serial monitor, I got lon:999999999 and lat:99999999…WHat can be the errors?? Pls help me out…
Thanks!.

My code is here…

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include “TinyGPS.h”

long lat,lon; // create variable for latitude and longitude object
SoftwareSerial gpsSerial(2, 3);
TinyGPS gps; // create gps object

void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600); // connect serial
Serial.println(“starting communication to gsm…”);
gpsSerial.begin(9600); // connect gps sensor
}
void loop(){
while(gpsSerial.available()){ // check for gps data
Serial.println(“reading data from gsm…”);
//if(gps.encode(gpsSerial.read())){ // encode gps data
//delay(2000);
if(gpsSerial.read()){
Serial.println(“reading lattitude and longitude…”);
gps.encode(gpsSerial.read());
gps.get_position(&lat,&lon); // get latitude and longitude
// display position
Serial.print("Position: ");
Serial.print("lat: “);Serial.print(lat);Serial.println(” ");// print latitude
Serial.print("lon: ");Serial.println(lon); // print longitude
}
}
}

I have used tinygps.h header file. But output is in 999999 format?? Did i get a garbage value??

That is the result when no valid GPS messages are received. There are many possible reasons for this, including GPS not functioning, not seeing satellites, incorrectly wired, incorrect communications parameters, etc. It is impossible to guess, from the extremely limited information that you posted, which it could be.

if so,,, i have to test and verify my gps module gtpa010 first...For this i can use hyperterminal test.
I need a verified gps data reading code for a reference......It would be my pleasure if someone do this at my email address: dpnastha@gmail.com or reply here..

Thank you!!

(deleted)