Cannot understand the code

Hello,

I am quite new to Arduino and trying to play with RFID. I copied/pasted and amended a code that I found with one of the project and cannot understand two items in the output:
1 - Why “John” is shown in a new line?
2 - Why there are question marks at the end of the second dump?

I spent quite a few hours trying to understand that but with no avail. Please help me as this is driving me crazy
Thank you in advance to anyone who is willing to sacrifice som time to it.

Write personal data on a MIFARE PICC
Card UID:7C9BDAC3 PICC type: MIFARE 1KB
Type Family name, ending with #
PCD_Authenticate() success:
Alphanumeric representation1: Smith
Smith
MIFARE_Write() success:
Data in block 1:
53 6D 69 74 68 0A 53 6D 69 74 68 20 20 20 20 20

Type First name, ending with #
PCD_Authenticate() success:
Alphanumeric representation2:
John
MIFARE_Write() success:
Data in block 4:
0A 4A 6F 68 6E 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20⸮⸮⸮⸮
⸮⸮⸮⸮

Here is the full code:

#include <SPI.h>
#include <MFRC522.h>

#define RST_PIN         9           // Configurable, see typical pin layout above
#define SS_PIN          10          // Configurable, see typical pin layout above

MFRC522 mfrc522(SS_PIN, RST_PIN);   // Create MFRC522 instance
void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);        // Initialize serial communications with the PC
  SPI.begin();               // Init SPI bus
  mfrc522.PCD_Init();        // Init MFRC522 card
  Serial.println(F("Write personal data on a MIFARE PICC "));
}

void loop() {

// Prepare key - all keys are set to FFFFFFFFFFFFh at chip delivery from the factory.
  MFRC522::MIFARE_Key key;
  for (byte i = 0; i < 6; i++) key.keyByte[i] = 0xFF;

// Look for new cards
  if ( ! mfrc522.PICC_IsNewCardPresent()) return;

// Select one of the cards
  if ( ! mfrc522.PICC_ReadCardSerial()) return;

Serial.print(F("Card UID:"));    //Dump UID
  for (byte i = 0; i < mfrc522.uid.size; i++) {
    Serial.print(mfrc522.uid.uidByte[i], HEX);
  }