Cant connect to esp8266 using uno r3

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to electronics and the esp8266 so any help would be appreciated.

I am trying to connect to my esp8266 using my Arduino Uno R3 then have it send information from a sensor to the internet so I can access it with my phone. I also have tried using remotexy to control my arduino through the esp8266 using this guide with a voltage divider.
http://remotexy.com/en/help/start/arduino-esp8266-ss/

I can’t even get my esp to respond to AT commands in the serial monitor.

I upload a “bareminimum” sketch to my arduino to use it to communicate with my esp8266.
I put this "http://arduino.esp8266.com/stable/package_esp8266com_index.json " in my preferences in the arduino ide then download the esp8266 library in the board manager.

Here is the error message I get if I try to send a sketch to the esp8266 once I have selected it in the boards list:

Arduino: 1.8.9 (Windows 10), Board: “Generic ESP8266 Module, 80 MHz, Flash, Disabled, All SSL ciphers (most compatible), ck, 26 MHz, 40MHz, DOUT (compatible), 512K (no SPIFFS), 2, nonos-sdk 2.2.1 (legacy), v2 Lower Memory, Disabled, None, Only Sketch, 115200”

Build options changed, rebuilding all
Sketch uses 257096 bytes (51%) of program storage space. Maximum is 499696 bytes.
Global variables use 26540 bytes (32%) of dynamic memory, leaving 55380 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 81920 bytes.
esptool.py v2.6
esptool.py v2.6
Serial port COM9
Connecting……____Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\hardware\esp8266\2.5.2/tools/upload.py”, line 25, in
esptool.main(fakeargs)
File “C:/Users/Michael/AppData/Local/Arduino15/packages/esp8266/hardware/esp8266/2.5.2/tools/esptool\esptool.py”, line 2653, in main
esp.connect(args.before)
File “C:/Users/Michael/AppData/Local/Arduino15/packages/esp8266/hardware/esp8266/2.5.2/tools/esptool\esptool.py”, line 468, in connect