Cant display 8 on my digit display when given the time interval!!

This is a simple program… to count numbers 0 to 9 on a digit display… Using a Arduino UNO and a 7-segment digit display.

What it is supposed to do: Count numbers 0 to 9 with a interval of 1 second in between (without switching off the display. i.e. continuously)…

What it is doing: Counting from numbers 0 to 7 with 1s delay, perfectly without and problems, skipping 8… i.e. giving 2s delay between 7 and 9 and continues to 9 and back to 0… The problem hence lies in displaying the number 8… It shows no problems displaying 8 without the time delay… i.e. showing 8 continuously…

The connections I gave are shown in the picture i have attached…
The Physical connections are also shown in the next picture… Although I feel there are no issues in the connections… I feel the problem lies in the coding I gave…

I am new to this… I am not attending any classes… I am a highschool kid… So forgive me if this seems too unprofessional… I hav not used any predefined libraries… I did the dis() function myself… U can see that clearly in the code below…

int i=0,X;

void setup() //just to defining the output ports
{
pinMode(0,OUTPUT);
pinMode(1,OUTPUT);
pinMode(2,OUTPUT);
pinMode(3,OUTPUT);
pinMode(4,OUTPUT);
pinMode(5,OUTPUT);
pinMode(6,OUTPUT);
pinMode(7,OUTPUT);
}

void onE(int d) // onE and on are the same… they were different before… to experiment on why this problem occured.
{
digitalWrite(d,HIGH);
}
void on(int d)
{
digitalWrite(d,HIGH);
}
void off(int d)
{
digitalWrite(d,LOW);
}

void Dis(int b,int a=7) // function to define the ports i need to be turned on to display various digits [0 to 9]
{
off(a);
b+=1; // didnt know if ‘case’ could take values of 0 so i just incremented the digit to be displayed by 1.
switch(b)
{
case 1: onE(1);onE(2);onE(3);onE(4);onE(5);onE(6);break;
case 2: onE(3);onE(4);break;
case 3: onE(0);onE(2);onE(3);onE(5);onE(6);break;
case 4: onE(0);onE(2);onE(3);onE(4);onE(5);break;