Can't get Arduino to work consistently.

Right, I'm new to this Arduino stuff and I'm having some problems...
It originally wouldn't detect the board because of an Error: code 10. I fixed it by installing some drivers and played around with it for a bit. Now it just will not work and has the same stupid code 10 error thing. I have tried a multitude of things to get it to work but it will just not. I updated the driver through the device manager. I installed the driver into the driver folder in my Windows C drive, I have gone a step further and opted to select from a list of available drivers on my computer. When I did the latter, it maintained a connection, but the code/writing/script thing never finished uploading to my board. I have also tried a multitude of micro USB cables but that won't work either. I am running out of ideas as to what to do and I could do with as much help as possible.

Perhaps you could say what board it is that's giving you all this trouble. And then please post in full some of the EXACT error messages that you are getting. Just "stupid code 10 error thing" is not really enough for fault diagnosis.

Steve

Code 10 is almost (but not always) a driver issue.

As Slipstick said the actual board type is most useful in these situations.
You said micro USB so that narrows it down a bit but nor enough to start throwing wild guesses around.
Also knowing if its is a clone or not will also be invaluable.
We don't care if it is or not we will still try to help you.

Oh right, board type...