Can't load bootloader...Help!

Hi guys - I'm new to this microcontroller thing. I have an Arduino Uno, but it seems that I damaged the chip during use. So, I ordered a couple new chips (Atmega328P) and bought the AVRISP programmer. Installed AVR Studio 4. Looks like I can read and write to/from the chip just fine. I selected \arduino\bootloaders\atmega8\atmegaboot.hex...loaded just fine. Hit "verify"...all good.

BUT, when I go to the arduino environment, I can't upload sketches to the board. Pressed the reset button, hoping to see the pin13 LED blink...no luck (indicating no bootloader). When I try burning a bootloader from the arduino environment (AVRISP mkII), I get "avrdude: usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device "usb"

I'm lost...can anyone help me out? Really appreciate it....

Arduino Uno: bootloaders\optiboot\optiboot_atmega328.hex

Thanks for the suggestion. I've tried that one and all of the others in the bootloader folder. I can tell that AVR Studio can "see" the chip and that it is being written to. I can read from what I've loaded from the chip as well (green lights flash for a few seconds each time I read or write to the chip).

Here's something else strange...with my original 328 (in an Uno board), AVR Studio can't read the bootloader from it. I get an error message. But the board works just fine! So, something really weird is going on.

Any other thoughts?

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1228502992 check this out for burning from the arduino ide :P it should work also with avr studio but you need to burn the fuses also check your boards.txt for the correct fuses

Thanks for the reply.

When I hook up my AVRISP mkII, I can burn the bootloader hex file just fine. BUT, the fuses are another story. I've looked up the fuse settings in the txt file in my Arduino sub-folder. For the ATmega328P, they should be:

Lowfuse = FF Highfuse = DE Ext Fuse = 05