Can't upload sketch, LED not working

Hello Everyone,

I am relatively new to Arduino and have a project I need to work on that involves the Nicla Sense ME.

The problem I am having currently is that I can't upload any sketch on the board. The LED doesn't flash when I upload the sketch, even though arduino IDE tells me that it uploaded successfully.

I can see the COM port under device manager, I can see the board info under Tools->get board info, even the NRF Connect tool on my pc detects the bluetooth on the board and connects.

I checked if just maybe the LED is defective by uploading a sketch that sends data over the COM port, but nothing is sent. Could this be a bootloader issue? And if so, how can I reset it?

Thankfully I have another spare board, which still works, but I want to figure out the issue on this one before I continue.

If this is the wrong category for these kinds of issues, I apologize in advance.

Hi @ismarh. If you upload this "Blink_Nicla" example sketch, do you get a blinking green LED on your Nicla Sense ME board?

#include "Nicla_System.h"

void setup() {
  nicla::begin();
  nicla::leds.begin();
}

void loop() {
  nicla::leds.setColor(green);
  delay(1000);
  nicla::leds.setColor(off);
  delay(1000);
}

No, the LED doesn't blink while programming is finished, as usual, and it also doesn't blink afterwards.

It might help to know that I have been trying out PlatformIO instead of the usual arduino IDE, so I have a feeling that the bootloader is bricked. I see that you need specific programmers to program arduino boards, and obviously the hex file. Is there somewhere a guide how I can do this with the Nicla Sense ME?

I want to just write what fixed the issue at the end, because I managed to get it working again.
The scary looking option "burn bootloader" did the trick in the end. Just doing that made the Nicla Sense ME perform like usual again.