Can't upload sketch to ATMEGA328P-PU using CP2102

Hi, I'm a noob to programming chips in general and utilizing the arduino IDE, bootloader, etc. So please bear with me if I mention something that is not correct and I ask that I'd be corrected so I can learn as I go.
I am trying to learn how to upload a sketch to an ATMEGA328P-PU that I purchased from amazon with a preloaded arduino bootloader (link). I followed a video from youtube (link) showing how to upload a sketch to the ATMEGA328P-PU. However, I purchased the CP2102 from amazon (link) instead of the one specified in the description of the youtube video.
I followed the video step-by-step and put all of the components together as specified. When I plug the CP2102 to my laptop, the light on the breadboard starts blinking at rate of 1 second so I'm thinking the chip was programmed with the "blink" sketch from the Arduino IDE. Would that be correct to assume?
I'm trying to upload a new blinking sketch as shown in the video to increase the blink rate, however I can't seem to upload a sketch.
On the Arduino IDE v1.8.3 I've selected the Board type from the Tools menu to be "Arduino/Genuino Uno". The CP2102 is recognized as COM15 and that is what I've selected in the Port menu. When I click on the "Upload" button, it fails. Here is the output I get from the console:

Archiving built core (caching) in: C:\Users\carlsuper14\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_cache_76202\core\core_arduino_avr_uno_0c812875ac70eb4a9b385d8fb077f54c.a
Linking everything together...
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\tools\avr/bin/avr-gcc" -w -Os -g -flto -fuse-linker-plugin -Wl,--gc-sections -mmcu=atmega328p  -o "C:\Users\carlsuper14\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_839295/Blink.ino.elf" "C:\Users\carlsuper14\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_839295\sketch\Blink.ino.cpp.o" "C:\Users\carlsuper14\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_839295/core\core.a" "-LC:\Users\carlsuper14\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_839295" -lm