Capacity? Potentiomiters, Solenoid , Lots of Calculations, LCD Display?

Hi, I will start by saying I am new to Arduino, never coded a thing but determined to work through this, so definately need help!

I have a project where the arduino takes the reading from a potentiomiter, and then uses the info to trigger a solenoid (in this case supplying air to return the potentomiter to a certain height).

Bits that make it complex:

I want the Arduino to take an reading of the potentiomiter over a 3 second or so reference period, with any average fluctuations being outside of a tolerance resulting in a solenoid being triggered, and the process starting again.

I want to be able to adjust the potentiomiter's programme height between 3 or 4 height settings.

I want to be able to push a button and change the 3 second average to to a fraction of a second, but only when a gyroscope also provides the right feedback.

There are 4 potentiomiters, each with a solenoid.

I have ordered a Mega with a bundle of bits to get started, and an currently looking at the code writing vids on youtube. Would you knowledgable guys be able to direct me for anything specific?

Can an Arduino or a number linked together provide the above level of programming sophistication to work as I've imagined? If not, can I use an Arduino for the first phase?

I see it as a development of this: https://www.instructables.com/id/Digital-Controller-for-Air-Suspension-Using-Arduin/

Finally, thank you for your time for reading my ramblings.

Hello fran9r,
Welcome.

Can an Arduino or a number linked together provide the above level of programming sophistication to work as I've imagined?

1 Arduino, no problem. Common newbie mistake is to think that 2 or more Arduinos will make things easier, in most cases it makes things harder. Getting 2 or more processors working on one project can be considered 'advanced'.