Car Counting Project

Hi all.
I'm new to Arduino and i'm trying to figure out which Hardware I need for my project.
I want to make a program that counts cars that get inside and out of my jobs parking lot.
Does anyone know which Board and sensors will fit for this kind of project ? (PIR sensor, Ultra sonic, etc..)

Thank you very much and sorry for my bad English :slight_smile:

An Infra Red 'Beam Break' type of sensor would be suitable.
Depending on the layout of your car parking lot, you might be able to have one sensor to detect cars going in, and one to detect cars leaving.

Whatever type of sensor you use, be prepared to get false counts when cars are entering and leaving at the same time, or if someone 'tailgates' the car in front.

It might pay you to reset your count whenever the car park gets empty (if it ever does), or at some time, such as the middle of the night when occupancy is likely to be low.

If running long leads to your Arduino , you ought to look at opto isolators on the digital inputs , or some form of signal conditioning and using screened cables to the sensors .

Induction loops are a very common, robust way of detecting and counting cars. No risk of your sensors getting blocked by dirt, grime, rainwater, or other environmental contaminations. It may require some digging, though.

Counting works best if it's done at a one-way location where the vehicles are guaranteed to continue moving in that direction (so no reversing for a count out when it's not done, or even a second count out when the car actually reverses back in).

Optical sensors can easily be confused by people walking through the car entrance. The induction loop ones can only be triggered by large pieces of metal so bicycles and even some motorbikes don't show up as cars.