car PSU

I am building a Haynes Roadster car and want to be able to do sequences with the rear LED lights when at shows etc. I am happy programming an arduino, however, i’m no electronics expert. I am needing some advice on where to buy a reliable PSU to power an arduino from noisy car electrics. As I need a level of integrity, is there any arduino that is more robust than others?. I will be switching LED lights with relatively low current <500mA - would rather switched with transistors rather than relays as would like a strobe effect and don’t think relays will switch quick enough. Again any advice on a off the shelf module (10 output) that could achieve this?

(ill be building in a bypass so lights will function as normal on the road)

Any advice much appreciated.

A ULN2803A has eight transistors in one package. The output can switch up to 500mA. There is a limitation on the total package current, 2.5 amp maximum, so 0.3 amps maximum on each with all eight on. The transistor voltage rating is 50 volts.

For higher current I found this. Only for outputs but the output terminal connections would be easier to use.

I think this would work well to connect to the above modules. UNO Shield / Nano Shield for NANO 3.0 and UNO R3 duemilanove Expansion board|module i2c|arduino sensor shieldshield arduino - AliExpress

Use this as a power supply for the arduino. LM2596HVS LM2596 HV LM2596HV DC DC Adjustable Step Down Buck Converter Power Module 4.5 50V To 3 35V Urrent limiting|power module|buck converterstep down dc-dc - AliExpress
The important thing here is the high input voltage capability. Yes the electrical system is a nominal 12 volts but there is a lot of high voltage noise that can be present. I would have prefered a module with terminal blocks for you but the voltage consideration is more important.

Put a diode in series with the positive input of the supply. Any general purpose diode, like a 1N4004. That should give some protection from negative voltages.