Cashless payment system (RFID)

Hello,

We would like to offer a cashless payment system in our local bar by providing RFID chips with an amount of money on it. When the card is empty, it must be reloaded manual by hand (so there must be no automatic reload system).

• I'm no expert but I've worked with arduino some years ago (I'm a network engineer).
  • I'm not sure if it's possible to store the balance on the card itself. Maybe it's safer on the server? Can the data on the chip (if possible) be encrypted, or is it? Not that familiar with RFID.
  • Is this whole idea even possible?

Thank you very much

Why not use regular Credit and Debit cards ?

I think you would have great difficulty making a system that is secure and which both you and the users can have confidence in.

Users could tamper with "value" stored on their device (in the privacy of their bedrooms) and you could tamper with "value" stored on the server.

...R

Sounds like a great idea!

I'm also no expert in arduino and particularly not in RFID but i'll put my thoughts up anyway!

• I'm not sure if it's possible to store the balance on the card itself. Maybe it's safer on the server? Can the data on the chip (if possible) be encrypted, or is it? Not that familiar with RFID.