Cat door opener project newbie

I am pretty new to arduino so keep that in mind. I got this video from youtube and put everything together but for a cat door not a bin HOW TO MAKE SMART DUSTBIN USING ARDUINO, ULTRASONIC SENSOR & SERVO MOTOR || ARDUINO PROJECT - YouTube .
My issue is the motor mentioned in this video is not strong enough and i replaced with a stronger one(BMS-630OMG) as thats what someone gave me. I do have the servo motor that goes with this project. I can upload a picture of the setup. Was quite a feat to do. Ofcourse i tested it with the weaker servo and it didnt lift the door. Is there something in the code of the youtube video that i am supposed to adjust? I am not used to arduino code yet but have edited codes in website building etc

How are you powering your project?
Not using a 9V battery, like the idiot who posted the video, I hope.

Aren’t cats sensitive to ultrasonic sounds?

The video is a decent (I wouldn't say good) introduction to a practical servo project. You learn the basics.

The 9V battery is OK for table top experiments, but in this video, I suspect that the battery has to be replaced daily.

If you have the mechanics worked out, but the servo isn't strong enough to move the door then you need a larger servo motor. The one in the video looks like an SG90 which is fine for moving the control tabs on a model airplane, but the foamcore lid in the video is probably stretching the limits of 1.5kG per cm. The specs for the SG90 servo vary depending on who made it and who is selling it. Always go with the lowest spec claimed by the seller.

Most of us don't have a way to measure the weight that we're asking the servo to move, but this gives you an idea what the spec of 1.5kG per cm means.

servo

The specs for the BMS-6300MG are impressive. They specify the torque at 146 Newtons per cm, which is roughly 15kg/cm. Probably enough to move the door.