cat feeder, servo motor

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to programming. Yet I figured out how to program the servo motor to get the right food dosis per loop in my cat feeder. There are two things that I want to add to the programing and I would like to get opinions on the best way to do this.

1- I want the feeder to be activated by the cat, I'm thinking about using a cat toy and turn it to a switch that would be connected to the gnd of the servo.4

2- I want to limitate the amount of loop the servo would do in a day so my cat doesn't reach a Garfield shape!

thanks for helping!

You can count the number of feeds and not let it go over a certain value.

At midnight you could reset the counter for the next day, use an RTC.

A simple light beam interruption technique could be used for triggering, maybe a toy could swing to interrupt the light.

Maybe allow 2 small feedings every hour to a maximum per day.

Here’s the code I’m using to set the right loop for cat feeder.

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo
// twelve servo objects can be created on most boards

int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position

void setup() {
  myservo.attach(9);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
}

void loop() {
  for (pos = 0; pos <= 180; pos += 1) { // goes from 0 degrees to 180 degrees
    // in steps of 1 degree
    myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos'
    delay(15);                       // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position
  }
  delay(5000);
  for (pos = 180; pos >= 0; pos -= 1) { // goes from 180 degrees to 0 degrees
    myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos'
    delay(15);                       // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position
  }
}

what I’m looking for is:

1- A way to code a trigger to the beginning of the loop with a motion sensor
2- The loop should’nt repeat without being triggered again.