Cellular and GNSS Antennas

Hi there,

I’m designing a PCB with an LTE cellular module that has built-in GNSS and I have everything done except the antenna design and I’m no RF expert. I have attached a picture of the recommended schematics for active and passive GPS antenna as well as my current unfinished PCB layout. The GPS antenna is at the bottom and cellular antenna is at the top. Currently I am using this GPS chip antenna, which supports GPS, GNSS, and Beidou, which is what the cellular module supports per its datasheet.

Since I have quite a bit of extra space at the top I really want to design a PCB trace antenna for the cellular, but I have no idea how to do that and I couldn’t find any reference designs online. Also, I am really not sure which off-the-shelf surface-mount antenna would suit me. The LTE module operates at LTE-FDD B2/B4/B12/B13 and LTE-M1 frequencies.

Now to the design:

• The datasheet for the cellular module says “…the trace impedance must be controlled to 50 Ohms.” Since the traces are so short in my layout (distance from the cellular module pin to the antenna pad is about 6mm), do I have to worry about this? For 1.6mm-thick double-layer FR4 substrate, traces need to be about 120mils wide (really, really fat) to be 50 Ohms, according to this online calculator.

• The cellular module datasheet says to use a low-noise amplifier (LNA) for a passive antenna, but I’m trying to skip this because RF LNA’s like this one are insanely small (yea, like 0.7x1.1mm with 6 pads). Please tell me if I shouldn’t do this.

• The chip antenna gives a few mounting configurations, and it looks like mine is the first “End Mount” configuration with the trace going straight out to the antenna. The datasheet says to keep 1.5mm separation distance between the chip antenna’s pad and the GND plane. I’ve done this. However, are the GND planes large enough on either side?