Cellular Connections, is it Possible?

Hi All,

I am relatively new to the Arduino, however I do own a Duelimove, (spelling?) and an a LCD screen for it. I had an idea for using a cell module in conjunction with it to connect to my PC so I could control external hardware remotely. Is what I wanna do possible? If so, what else do I need and can anyone with experience give me insight?

take a look at this video:

Thank you for the video, I hadn't come across the drone cell in my searches....I guess this is a dumb question, but if I connect my device to the internet, dontt I still need to have a program on my computer to allow me access to it? Also, it is possible to use the usb port on the arduino to connect a usb device?

it is possible to use the usb port on the arduino to connect a usb device?

No this is a client USB interface not a host.

I am relatively new to the Arduino, however I do own a Duelimove, (spelling?) and an a LCD screen for it. I had an idea for using a cell module in conjunction with it to connect to my PC so I could control external hardware remotely. Is what I wanna do possible? If so, what else do I need and can anyone with experience give me insight?

it is not clear as to what you want to to you'll need to tell us more about what you want to do

What I am trying to do is hook up gauges ( thermistors, strain gauges, etc.) in a remote area so that I can monitor them at any time. It is not possible to have a whole PC or laptop there, so I thought of using a micro controller and a cell module to link it up. As of right now, I can control the gauges via LABView graphical programming language. One of the issues I cant figure out is how I would actually control this whole unit, I would need to have my arduino unit linked to a server?

I would need to have my arduino unit linked to a server?

Either that or make the arduino a server.
Or you can add a cell phone shield:-

how far is the remote place ?

Well ideally anywhere, hence the cell module