change display from LCD to Max7219 8 digit 7segment LED

Have a program written for an LCD display for a DRO using a quadrature encoder and I have been looking at ways to change the display from LCD to LED to make it easier to read. There are units on Ebay using the MAX7219. Need to know if I am on the right track here. I have studied many programs on the web to do with Arduino and the MAX7219 , all are different in one way or another. So will it be a matter of defining the LED library, change pinMode to include the new pins required.

It appears the loop section for the LCD mainly reads the data collected so where would be a good place to look for how I can do this with the 7219.? The encoder is read using 2 intrerrupts but I am new to this and still need to see where the data is stored. LCD readout appears to be much easier to do really.

Unless you post the code (using "code" tags from the [ # ] icon) and any relevant photographs (perfectly focused and resolution 1024 x 768 or slightly less), we will never know, will we?

Had thought about doing just that but I am concerned there may be some form of copyright on it.

As this heading was "guidance" I thought I would ask for general guidance if that makes sense.

If you can't be more forthcoming, you can't expect any guidance either. One thing I can tell you is that using 7segs with the 7221 is very different to using LCDs, and you are right about LCDs being easier - to the point where you might be better off using an LCD display more appropriate to your needs instead, but there is an article on the 7221 in the Arduino playground.

LCDs easier? With MAX7219/7221, you set up 5 registers in setup(), then you send digit info to 1 of 8 data registers when you want the output updated. Pretty simple!

Every access is this format, using SPI.transfer: