Change rate at which vacuum pumps activate based on sensor

Hi everyone,

I am very new to both Arduino and the forums. Please let me know if I am committing any forum faux pas and i will amend my post right away.

On to the project...

I am trying to change the rate at which two vacuum pumps alternate based on the information being sent from an IR range sensor.

Here is my current code:

/*************************************************************
Motor Shield 1-Channel DC Motor Demo
by Randy Sarafan

For more information see:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-Motor-Shield-Tutorial/

Function pins per Ch. A pins per Ch. B
Direction          D12           D13
PWM                  D3           D11
Brake                  D9           D8
Current Sensing          A0           A1

Note: delay= lowest value 700
            highest value 2064
*************************************************************/

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
 //Setup Channel A
 pinMode(12, OUTPUT); //Initiates Motor Channel A pin
 pinMode(13, OUTPUT); //Initiates Motor Channel B pin
 pinMode(9, OUTPUT); //Initiates Brake Channel A pin
 pinMode(8, OUTPUT); //Initiates Brake Channel B pin
}

void loop(){
  int sensorValue = map(analogRead(3), 0,600, 0,255);
//int sensorValue = 500;
 //forward @ full speed
 digitalWrite(9, HIGH);//Brake motor A
 digitalWrite(13, HIGH); //Establishes forward direction of Channel B
 digitalWrite(8, LOW);   //Disengage the Brake for Channel B
 analogWrite(11, sensorValue);   //Spins the motor on Channel B
 delay(2064 - sensorValue);
 digitalWrite(8, HIGH);//Brake motor B
 digitalWrite(12, HIGH); //Establishes forward direction of Channel A
 digitalWrite(9, LOW);   //Disengage the Brake for Channel A
 analogWrite(3, sensorValue);   //Spins the motor on Channel A
 delay(2064 - sensorValue);
}