changing 2.4 tft reset from A4 to 1 causing conflict with SD library

Working on my latest project and could use some suggestions and/or help. I’m using a cheap 2.4" tftLCD on my UNO R3 and I want to modify the LCD board to move the reset line off of A4 and over to pin 1. Eventually I want to add a BMP180 pressure sensor, and I’ll need A4 and A5 to interface with the sensor using the specific library for that sensor.

In my project I also want to access the micro SD card, and I started learning how to use the SD with the Adafruit example sketch (tftbmp) that comes with the Adafruit TFT library. (NOTE: the sensor name: BMP180 has nothing to do with the image file type that the example code loads from the SD card (*.bmp)).

This is the cheap LCD I have (http://www.ebay.com/itm/US-Ship-Arduino-UNO-LCD-Shield-w-2-4-TFT-SD-Reader-Touch-Screen-Module/321991686388).

It requires the breakout board pinout and it also needs overriding the identifier with this added piece of code:

if(identifier==0x0101)
      identifier=0x9341;     //this is the ID override for the Xyltech TFT_LCD

I have two of the tftLCDs, one has been modified to move the reset to pin 1 which required cutting a trace on the top of the printed circuit board and soldering a wire to replace the connection so it goes to pin 1 instead. The other unmodified tftLCD retains the A4 reset.

I thought that changing the reset pin location in the setup line of the Adafruit sketch along with the identifier override is all that is needed. But this modification has broken the LCD updates, and all I get is a white screen on the LCD with the LCD reset on pin 1. However, the serial messages in this sketch are still good (this is true with either LCD board). With the altered LCD reset line on pin 1 the SD card is still being read, but the screen is white. There is the blip when the screen is supposed to be updated, but that is all.