Changing LED intensity in well defined steps

Hello! I have two push buttons. I want the first pushbutton to increase the analogWrite amount by 10. E.g. 10-> 20-> 30. The 2nd push button will decrement this value. The constrain function will be used to ensure the value does got go beyond 255/below 0 (e.g. value = constrain(value,0,255).

Pseudo code:

int value = 0;

loop(){
if (digitalRead(button1) == HIGH)
{ 
value +=10;
}
if(digitalRead(button2)==HIGH)
{
value -=10;
}

value = constrain(value, 0, 255);
analogWrite(11, value); // Write PWM output to pin 11.
delay(10);

}

The thing is, if I hold down the pushbutton, it will rise pretty fast to 255. That's a nice effect, but not what I want. I would like it to only increase by 10 with every push, not based on how long I hold the button down.

Do I need to look into say, a simple state machine to make this work? I have done this with state machines for more complex stuff, but with the Arduino, I'm very new to it and not sure if there are already solutions/libraries for this.

Thank you!

Do I need to look into say, a simple state machine to make this work?

You need to look at how you are reading the switch. When the switch state is HIGH, you may or may not need to increment value, depending on what it's previous state is. So, you need to record the previous state of the button press, and compare the current state to the previous state. Only when the current state is HIGH and the previous state was LOW would you increment/decrement value.

By the way, value is a lousy name. What is the value being held the value of? It is impossible to tell from the name.

You'll need to add 4 more variables, currState1, prevState1, currState2, and prevState2.

int currState1;
int prevState1 = LOW;
int currState2;
int prevState2 = LOW;

void loop()
{
   currState1 = digitalRead(button1);
   if(currState1 == HIGH && prevState1 == LOW)
   {
      value += 10;
   }
   prevState1 = currState1;