Chase lighting for back of truck

Hi All

My first taste of this kind of thing so be gentle with me. :o I am an auto electrician and have fitted perimeter lights to the back of truck, I wish for these to work as a chase. 6 led 24v lights each side when indicating(similar to most modern cars)

What would I need to do to make a 24v system work? Would an UNO be able to do this? Code I would need to write?

Sorry if question asked before but couldn't find an answer which I felt comfortable with.

Thanks PETER

Sorry guys don't know eticate.... would this work

void setup()

{

pinMode(8, OUTPUT);

pinMode(9, OUTPUT);

pinMode(10, OUTPUT);

pinMode(11, OUTPUT);

pinMode(12, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() //this means Perform functions again and again

{

delayTime = analogRead(0); //0 means Analog Input A0

digitalWrite(8, HIGH); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(8, LOW); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(9, HIGH); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(9, LOW); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(10, HIGH); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(10, LOW); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(12, HIGH); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(11, HIGH); delay(delayTime);

digitalWrite(11, LOW); delay(delayTime); digitalWrite(12, LOW); delay(delayTime);

24V in a car???

Would an UNO be able to do this?

Yes, but you can't directly drive the 12/24V lights with the Arduino. The Arduino works at 5V (although it has a voltage regulator and can be powered from 12V) and the output pins can only put-out 40mA maximum (enough to power a "regular" little LED).

Each "channel" will need a MOSFET or transistor driver circuit. [u]Here[/u] is a MOSFET driver example. It will work as long as the MOSFET is rated to handle the required current. Or, you can use a solid state relay. (Regular electro-mechanical relays usually require a driver for the coil, whereas many solid state relays can be driven directly from the Arduino.)