cheapest and easiest way to control a stepper.

Hi all
I am a complete newby at both this forum and steppers.
I want to turn a pipe 45 deg. and back in a sweep motion but at 1 or 2 or 3….steps each time the power (12v) is turned on.
When it reaches a certain point at the end of 45 deg. it turns counter clockwise and does the same in reverse i.e.. power on 42 deg…power off….power on 40 deg… power off….power on 38 deg. etc. back to 0 deg then back clockwise.
I hope this makes sense.
I am trying to work out if there is a usb programmed controller or module that goes from 12 v power supply and tells the stepper motor what to do.
Sorry again for being a dummy.
I have spent hours trying to decipher what is what.
Thanks
Wayne

If it's only moving through a fixed arc of about 45 degrees, a servo might be a suitable actuator - that would be much easier to connect and control. How much torque does this thing need to apply?

I can easily turn the 40 mm pipe by hand. It is a little stiff because of the water resistance but turns easy enough.
It is a pump in the bottom of a fish pond that sweeps back and forth.
A pipe sits in spigot at the bottom of the pond and comes to the surface where it will be rotated through 45deg and the pump is attached to the pipe at the bottom.
I have got a wiper motor on it but can’t find a timer to come on for 1 second each time the pump switches on. It needs to move just a little to sweep the bottom and then have the pump run for ten minutes then switch off then when the 240v pump starts again it swishes in a slightly different spot.

Sounds like a servo would be the simplest and cheapest option. They come in a wide range of sizes. Look on the HobbyKing website, for example.

Servos sweep through about 180 degrees so if you only need 45 degrees you could "gear" it down with a lever to increase the torque for turning your pipe.

...R

Are you familiar with ordinary model radio control servos like this?

http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/standard-servo-fs35q