Cheapest way for project

I am a noob and have an idea for first project. Need help navigating through all the options. :wink:

Requirements for project

12v DC constant power for device to use

12v relay minimal amps very low draw

State 1) When 12v DC missing on input port - Relay closed so 12v flows through relay

State 2) When 12v DC present on input port - Relay opens after 5 min - then stay open till State 1

This is an Arduino forum. Arduinos are 5v devices. There is a swag of 5v relays popular with Arduino users. Also, those Arduinos that have on board regulators have crude ones and running them on 12v, isn't such a good idea. You might be better off using a decent 5v regulator and feed them 5v directly.

Yes, Arduino devices operate with 5 volts and some 3.3 volts, but that does not mean they can't interact with the rest of the world that may not operate on these two limited voltages. Wouldn't it be boring if we could only work with the outside world only if it was at 5 volts.

I will assume you are using an Arduino that uses 5 Volts internally. Meaning you can supply more than 5 volts to the power input on the Arduino because they have voltage regulators that will provide 5 volts internally when more than 5 volts is input.

Inputting 12 volts directly to one of the analog input ports would probably damage the microcontroller, so you need to reduce the voltage. Look up voltage dividers to understand how you would be able to measure the 12 volt or larger signal. Voltage dividers are usually constructed with 2 resistors and the output of the divider is a simple ratio of the input voltage.

There are lots of relays that can be used to switch the 12 volt load, you seem to indicate that the amperage draw of the load is low, if it is low enough you can probably just use a transistor or for more efficiency a mosfet.