Check if electrical switch is working during 5000 on and off cycles

Hello everyone, i am very new to the concept of ardruino board and hoping someone could give me insight to the task at hand.

I wanted to do a task as follows,

For an one way electrical switch if i can turn it on and off (Giving power supply to it) with the help of a pneumatic piston (with the help of an switch tester instrument), How can i just take the reading from the switch during each on and off cycle and also keep track of each cycle via the data logger board.

Also if there is a defect in switching the switch, like its in On condition but no supply goes through, can Arduino record that as well and still continue with the set number of cycles.

I know the task seems small but i would really would like to find out more on this.

Your post was MOVED to its current location as it is more suitable.

No problem so far, you can monitor the on/off state e.g. using an optocoupler. For the code see BlinkWithoutDelay example.

A bit harder to monitor the performance of the piston.

Hi DrDiettrich,

Thanks for the reply, actually in simple terms i wanted to carry out these functions when the instrument is running,

1. to keep data log of the number of cycles done (One On and OFF as 1 cycle)
  2. record errors if the Light switch is in ON condition and no supply passes through it.

What have you tried so far?

Well at the moment its just a thought if I could figure out to get the datalog via an arduino board.
Also since i new to this i wanted to know if Arduino Uno could be used in this.

Hoping to hear your thoughts on this.

Yes. See Serial.print() for the log.

How to record only the errors if the switch is in ON position and no signal is obtained?

Use an if statement.

I know it sounds silly but can you help me write the code,

I might be super easy for you but i am a newbie to Arduino, can you help me out.

Hello
Did you start the design of the sketch already?