Checking Real Life Time

Hello everyone. I'm new to Arduino and have been tasked with doing essentially anything of my choosing to demonstrate I have a basic understanding of how it works for a class I am in. My idea is to create a binary clock with LEDs. The idea is to have them light up to represent 1 and be off to represent 0 and then with the string of 12 LEDs I can display the time up to the 12th hour and the 59th minute.

For example:

1:13 in binary would be 1:1101 so I would have the right most LED on the left of the divider (the divider is essentially the : on a digital clock) light up to represent 0001 and 3 of the 4 most right LED's of the right side of the divider light up to display 00001101 for 1 and 13 getting 1:13.

I am debating putting another LED to indicate either AM or PM.

My problem is with the coding. I do not know how to get the code to check the current time. I have tried using the now() function, but when I run the code I get an error saying now() is not defined, so I initialized it and was unsuccessful. I downloaded and imported the Time.h library but that was not helpful either.

Please don't write the entire code for the project I have described, I just don't know how to get the Arduino to register the current eastern standard time.

Thank you. :)

(deleted)

You need a real time clock (RTC) module that provides the time. Arduino does not have a built in clock. You can easily google how to use it.

2:13 in binary would be 1:1101

Are you sure?

Pete

el_supremo:

2:13 in binary would be 1:1101

Are you sure?

Don't worry, The folks looking at 1:1101 won't know either :)

...R

If you are going to add an AM/PM LED you might as well just add a bit to the hours field to get 24-hour time. You can still fit hours and minute into 11 bits.

const byte HourPins[5] = {2,3,4,5,6};
const byte MinutePins[6] = {7,8,9,10,11,12};

for (byte i=0; i<5; i++)
{
  digitalWrite(HourPins[i], (hour>>i) & 1);
}
for (byte i=0; i<6; i++)
{