Choosing transistors

Hi, I need guidance on choosing a transistor that when 5v is applied to the base 24v will flow from the collector to the emitter. I have many mosfets designed to handle 24v but I’m a newbie and I don’t want to mess with common ground and fry my Arduino YUN.
Thanks,
Ethan

Hi,

Volts don't flow, Amps (ie. current) flows.

Almost any common bjt or fet will do that for you. Question is, how much current? And do you need to switch on the high-side or the low-side? i.e. will the transistor have to go between 24V and the load, or between the load and ground? It would help if you can tell us what you're switching.

Paul

I am driving two motors with an arduino from a 24v gel battery. Im a little sketchy on amps and ohms and stuff.

ComputerNerd: Im a little sketchy on amps and ohms and stuff.

This site may help, and if you have some $$$ to spare you can't beat H&H.

ComputerNerd: I am driving two motors with an arduino from a 24v gel battery. Im a little sketchy on amps and ohms and stuff.

We will need more than "sketchy" if we are going to help. Do you need to control the speed of these motors? Do you need forward and reverse?

Do you have a multimeter? If so, measure what current flows when the motors are free-running. Also measure the current when the motors are under load, if you can. Even more importantly, what current flows when the motors are stalled? That will be the highest current and the transistors must be able to cope with that.

Also with motors, you must use "flyback" diodes, or the reverse voltage generated when the motors stop could indeed damage the rest of of the circiuit including your Arduino.