Church tower of Utrecht in the mist "drone tv"

A really nice view of The Dom tower of Utrecht in the mist.

Now I know what I want for X-mas :wink:

update: now with youtube URL - DJI Phantom 2 Epic (Domtoren Utrecht) - YouTube -
(same as Riva)

Rob did you forget to attach or link?

robtillaart:
A really nice view of The Dom tower of Utrecht in the mist.

Now I know what I want for X-mas :wink:

A drone???

Stunning... Air Traffic Control must have crapped themselves

JimboZA:
Rob did you forget to attach or link?

yep, copy paste error,

Riva thanks

JimboZA:
Stunning... Air Traffic Control must have crapped themselves

As far as I know - but I am a noob in avionics - you may fly almost anything here as long as you stay under 150 meters (and don't ask :wink: The Dom tower is about about 110 meters, so just within limits.

Think there are very few regulations for drones as technology often goes way faster than law makers...

I have been looking at the Phantom 2 for the last few months wondering if I could justify buying the thing and also watching the steadily increasing heath/safety/privacy concerns stirred up in the media that make me think that I would not be able to (legally) shoot interesting footage.

If you're flying for fun, and you keep it within line of sight, it should fall under normal RC aircraft rules. If you're flying FPV or for pay, then the FAA will probably want a say in it.

As for the number of recent near misses, I believe one of two things is happening.

1. There are some terribly irresponsible people flying near airports with drones.

2. This is the work of people who have ill will toward us and want to take down a plane.

I'm leaning toward answer #2.

Ah, the Dom tower, I have climbed that to the top more than any other tower, at least 6 to 8 times .
I even timed myself from the bottom to the top as it is a fair climb running most of the way, even up through the narrow pillar that takes you to the roof section.