Clamping a Frequency?

Hello,

I've ran into a project that I'm unsure as to whether an Arduino is capable of handling. I've been playing around with Arduino's for a few years, but really haven't built anything mind blowing with them... Nothing where timing accuracy was critical. My concern with this project is whether or not an Arduino is fast enough to do what I need, or whether a faster uC would be necessary. Just looking for some advice.

So, basically what I'm looking to do is clamp a signal when it reaches a preset frequency. The input will be a 5v 0-3.5 kHz square wave. The output needs to follow this input signal accurately, until it reaches a predetermined frequency, at which time no matter what the increase of the input frequency is, the output needs to continue to hold at the specified maximum frequency. I.e., if the preset value was defined as 3,300 Hz:

Input: 100 Hz Output: 100 Hz Input: 1,250 Hz Output: 1,250 Hz Input: 3,200 Hz Output: 3,200 Hz Input: 3,475 Hz Output: 3,300 Hz Input: 1,900 Hz Output: 1,900 Hz

I know that I can measure the input frequency, and then produce the same frequency on an output. Given that the signal is 5v, and at such a low frequency, I don't think there would be any problems in that regard.

However, what I am concerned about is whether or not an Arduino can sample the input quickly enough, and continue to output an accurate frequency at the same time as sampling is occurring. The frequency will be changing constantly, and I need to minimize any lag between measuring the input frequency and setting the output frequency, while maintaining accuracy.

I've never done anything related to measuring frequencies with an Arduino, so I'm just not sure whether this is within the capabilities of the platform or not. Is it worth rigging up a test bed and trying this, or is it just flat out too much to ask to do accurately?

Thanks!

If it is only a square wave, no sampling is necessary, just use pulsein().