closed loop stepper

so I am very new to Arduino, but I can program to a fair extent and have basic electronic knowledge.

what I want to achieve is a stepper motor moving in 60 or 30-degree steps. in only one revelation then returning 60 or 30 degrees at a time each movement controlled by a pulse on an input. it will need to be closed-loop and i need an accurate VR in the system for some other part of the system so I am thinking about using the VR for position feedback to the Arduino.

am I expecting too much? is this something the Arduino can achieve?

Thanks for your time.

What you describe can be easily done with an Arduino. I assume that VR is a variable resistor, is that right? How accurate do the angles have to be? A stepper does not, necessarily, need feedback to get precise positioning as each step is precise and counting steps will give position. Precision can be increased by using a stepper driver that allows microstepping.

pulse on an input

What is the amplitude and duration of the pulse?

Here is Robin2's basic stepper tutorial to get you started.

lumley32:
it will need to be closed-loop

Why?

Most 3D printers run faultlessly for hours without the need for a closed loop system. If the stepper motor is missing steps then it is inadequate for the job, is inadequately powered or inappropriately controlled.

I can't imagine any variable resistor being able to match the precision of a stepper motor.

Most stepper motors have 200 steps per revolution which means that they are incapable of moving exactly 30° or 60°. The nearest to 30° would be 17 steps or 30.6°. Maybe that small error does not matter.

...R

Continuing from Robin’s comment...
You could get very accurate positioning by using a ‘true’ servo, using a DC motor, shaft encoder and h-bridge.

This operates in the same way as an RC servo, but gives you absolute choice of control, power and positioning.