Closing external circuits (Xbox one controllers)

Hi everyone! First off, thank you in advance for any insight you may be able to provide.

I am new to arduino, but not completely new to programming. I'm a sysadmin for a living and just getting into electronics. I also like to modify video game controllers so I'm trying my hand at a project to mix the two.

What I'm looking to do is figure out how I can get the arduino to close an external circuit (a video game controller button).

Part of what I like to do is add buttons to the bottoms of controllers so that you don't have to take your thumb off of the aiming stick to press a button like jump or crouch. The problem with this is that the switch is hard wired to one specific controller button/action.

So I got the idea that I could use a microcontroller and set it up so that I could "remap" the tactile switches I install to any controller button that was connected to the microcontroller....which naturally led me to arduino.

The controller I end up dealing with the most is the Xbox one, which has a common ground setup. The switches I install are just tactile switches with one wire going to the button's (controller ABXY usually) and another to any other common ground point.

The first step that I need to conquer is getting the arduino to "close" the external circuit, just like a switch would. If at all possible, I'd like to do this with the arduino itself. I can fit a nano inside an xbox one controller - which also has 3.3 and 5v points that I can use to power it.

I had found a few resource that said I would need an optocoupler (which Im still not 100% of what its used/required for). - but for the sake of space if it can be avoided that would be cool.

I know there's a product on the market that does this on a single chip that's about 1" square and has an ATtiny328 on it and is relatively thin - but I want to build one myself :)

Thanks again!