CNC Shield + DRV8825 taking power from USB?

Hi all,

Fair warning I’m an absolute beginner so there’s a good chance the problem isn’t actually what I’m thinking.
I’m using an AZDelivery DRV8825 Stepper Driver with a CNC Shield V3. I’m trying to adjust the max output on the driver using its little potentiometer, following these instructions. However, when I try to measure the voltage between the potentiometer and ground, I get a reading of zero.

The mysterious thing is, when I plug in the Arduino’s USB cable, then the same measurement will read a value in the range I’d expect (about 1.7V). At least, it will for a while until it overdraws the USB port on my laptop.

I’ve confirmed that the power supply for my CNC shield is yielding 12V at the screw terminals on the shield.

My stepper motor has been connected to the pins for the driver chip since before the first time I powered it on.

Does this mean there’s a problem with my CNC shield? Or is something else I’ve overlooked preventing the driver from getting wall power?

I’ll guess it’s either turned all the way down, The driver’s blown, or you aren’t making contact with the right pins with your DM probes.

When I last set up a 3D printer, I think I set the pot by trial & error - i.e. turned it down until it would no longer step and then turned it up a bit.

The important thing is not to adjust it while there is power - allegedly that’s an easy way to blow the driver chip.

Does the motor step?

I actually don’t know if the motor steps, because if I plug the arduino into my USB port it draws so much power that after maybe 10 seconds my laptop shuts the USB down to avoid getting damaged.

It sounds like you have a hardware issue - the USB is only supposed to be powering the Mega and the digital logic side of the stepper drivers. If it’s pulling enough to kill your laptop, something is very wrong. Did you solder up the board yourself?