Code Book

hello, i am a super noob at this, i have already built 2 arduino clones and implied code in them to run on LED shields...

my question is- Is there a book or a pdf or anything, that can teach me the basics and indepth code that the arduino uses in its program... i want this to use my OWN codes when programming an LED shield. or any future project.

i have read that the Arduino code is based off of C. is this right? if it is can i just buy a book on programming C?

A book on C and/or C++ programming is a great start. The language is almost identical. There are also several free C/C++ compilers you can run on Windows to practice.

awesome! thanks,

so all of the code the arduino reads is all C?

also where can i find a list of terms the arduino would recognize? (sorry if this is a stupid question)

i want to learn how to program so im hoping that starting in the arduino is a good choice since they have awesome projects out there to learn from...

Well, its C/C++, but the Arduino environment makes some changes. It uses the gcc compiler, which is a very good C/C++ compiler. But, you don’t have things like stream IO, because you don;t have a console or a file system on an Arduino. There are other examples also.

If you want to learn to program on Windows in general, the arduino might not be your best bet. You can download for free very good C/C++ compilers like Open Watcom and Visual C++ Express. You can also program in Java for free, on pretty much any operating system. If you want to program micro controllers specifficially, then I guess Arduino is a good choice. But I would still start with a simpler environment.

also where can i find a list of terms the arduino would recognize?

Here's a start:

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/HomePage

I’ve never heard of “stream IO”. That’s probably why I can’t get to grips with this obtuse concept of programming.

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/iostream/