Code compilation error

Hello,

I am a Java developer new to C/C++ environment for Arduino. I searched a lot in this forum for similar error but did not find a solution…

Here is my problem : my code (following) is compiling well in Atmel Studio 6 but not in Arduino IDE, that is still complaining : “error: expected constructor, destructor, or type conversion before ‘*’ token”

#include <SD.h>
#include <XBee.h>

struct Alert {
  String addr;
  String pin;
  String comp;
  float val;
  // pour la liste chainee
  Alert * suivant;
};
// !!!!!!!! error indicated here !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
// liste chainee
Alert* llist = NULL;

XBee xbee;
ZBRxIoSampleResponse ioSample;

File dataFile;

char DATA_FILE[] = "xbeedata.txt"; 
char CONFIG_FILE[] = "config.txt"; 
char SYNC_ORDER = 'y';
char CONFIG_ORDER = 'c';

const byte S_COMMAND = 8;
const byte S_XBEE = 7;
const byte S_NONE = 9;
byte CUR_STATE;

void setup() { 
  CUR_STATE = S_NONE;
  xbee = XBee();
  ioSample = ZBRxIoSampleResponse();
  xbee.begin(9600);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
}

I read about common errors of initialization/assignment outside of methods but I really can’t understand what am I doing wrong…?

And even if I have these errors in Arduino IDE, can I upload my code on the board with Atmel (and its optimizations) ?

Thanks for your help.

Alert * suivant;

What is an Alert? The compiler is telling you that it is clueless, and that, therefore, you have made a mistake.

okay, but I am trying to define a structure usable as a chained list (helped by some c++ tutorials). How can I do that in a different way? (sorry for this maybe "too-noob" question but in Java it seems easier :blush:...)

memel182:
okay, but I am trying to define a structure usable as a chained list (helped by some c++ tutorials). How can I do that in a different way? (sorry for this maybe "too-noob" question but in Java it seems easier :blush:...)