Code for programing mechanical inputs, sensors,count,external output=reset?

Hi, I am using a pro mini. I am looking to code this properly for a project. I am looking to use a momentary button to count as interrupts. Example: Momentary switch is pressed 10 times to set a motor off using 3v for 2 secs, the motor will activate through an external sensor that is normally open when active it will close, once the sensor is activated 10 times it activates the motor, and the preset interrupts of 10 once hit internally goes back to 0 and waits until it counts 10 again activates pulse motor and starts all over again. I also need a long button press to reset the the programmed 10 button presses to 0 in case I need the pulse motor to engage with 5 instead of 10. I have tried and cant' get this setup to work right much at all. I am new to code for specific projects, so this has been quite a mind strainer the last week. I would appreciate any help maybe a mock sketch or? I need to know where to store the inputs outputs and correct reference terms for the code and I have not got them right apparently through much study. This is a setup for the model R/C hobbyist Car, Plane, etc...

Thanks micro~

I'm afraid I can't make sense of your long paragraph with little punctuation.

Post the code you have and it may help to understand what you are trying to do.

I don't think the word "interrupts" in line 4 is appropriate in this context. For an Arduino an "interrupt" is a very specific thing which is probably not needed in your project - to the extent that I understand what you are trying to say.

There is some neat code for button presses here which may be useful.

The Thread planning and implementing a program illustrates (among other things) the use of short functions to make the code easy to follow.

...R