Code help for running DC motor (Arduino Nano)

Hi everybody. Can anybody help me verify this code is correct? I'm working on running a DC motor via an Arduino Nano, and cannot get it to run for the life of me. I have verified that the Nano works, the L298N works, and the rotary encoder works. I re-soldered everything and checked for proper continuity, so I am fairly confident that is not the issue. The only other thing I can think of is that my code is wrong. I am new to electronics, so I'm hoping this is a rookie mistake and not faulty components/bad connections.

[code]
const int pwm = 2 ;  //initializing pin 2 as pwm
const int in_1 = 8 ;
const int in_2 = 9 ;

//For providing logic to L298 IC to choose the direction of the DC motor

void setup()
{
  pinMode(pwm, OUTPUT) ;  //we have to set PWM pin as output
  pinMode(in_1, OUTPUT) ; //Logic pins are also set as output
  pinMode(in_2, OUTPUT) ;
}

void loop()
{
  //For Clock wise motion , in_1 = High , in_2 = Low

digitalWrite(in_1, HIGH) ;
  digitalWrite(in_2, LOW) ;
  analogWrite(pwm, 255) ;

/*setting pwm of the motor to 255
    we can change the speed of rotaion
    by chaning pwm input but we are only
    using arduino so we are using higest
    value to driver the motor  */

//Clockwise for 3 secs
  delay(3000) ;

//For brake
  digitalWrite(in_2, HIGH) ;
  delay(1000) ;

//For Anti Clock-wise motion - IN_1 = LOW , IN_2 = HIGH
  digitalWrite(in_1, LOW) ;
  delay(3000) ;

//For brake
  delay(1000) ;
}

[/code]

Hardware wise, one thing I'm unsure about is if these jumpers should be on or not. They are currently on as I am using a 12V power supply.