Code help on my project

Hey guys, I am developing a unit to help run a machine. This machine basically has 12v ac solenoids that both need to be activated at the same time. I am using an ardiuno relay to control the power sent to these solenoids. However, the solenoids and therefore the relay can only be powered when I have two signals from two body touch sensors (KY-036). When both of these sensors are touched (they both have to be touch in order to activate the relay E.I. if one side is touched but the other is not then the relay should not be activated) I then need to send a signal to the relay which will power the solenoids. Also, once one or both of the sensors is no longer activated then the relay needs to be closed. I am very new to coding and don't know if anyone can help me but this is my code so far, I am getting hung up on the part where both sensors have to have a high value for the relay to be activated. Thanks

int touchsensorR = ~6; // Digital Output reads signal from right KY-036
int touchsensorL = ~5; // Digital Output reads signal from left KY-036
int relay5 = 7; // Signal for Relay

void setup ()
{
pinMode (touchsensorR, INPUT); // This for reading the digital signal on the right side
pinMode (touchsensorL, INPUT); // This for reading the digital signal on the left side
pinMode (relay5, OUTPUT); // This is to switch the relay on, sending power to the solenoids

Serial.begin (9600); // Serial output with 9600 bps
}

void loop ()
{
val = digitalRead (touchsensorR) ;
val = digitalRead (touchsensorL) ;
if (val == HIGH)

{
digitalWrite (relay5, HIGH);
}
else
{
digitalWrite (relay5, LOW);
}
}

if (digitalRead(touchsensorR) == HIGH && digitalRead(touchsensorL) == HIGH) 
{
}
else
{
}

I'm guessing you put the ~ in these lines:

int touchsensorR = ~6; // Digital Output reads signal from right KY-036
int touchsensorL = ~5; // Digital Output reads signal from left KY-036

.... becasue that's the way they are printed on the board?