code help with leds in response to servo postion

Hi, I am new to Arduino, having avoided programming all my life. I work with electrics/electronics in the film/tv industry.
I am working on a prop for a tv commercial. An analogue 'VU'-meter-type scale is required to move from zero to full scale deflection (180 degrees) and as the pointer moves six Leds light up in succession (staying on). I am using an arduino uno with the 'knob' sketch to move the servo which drives the pointer. I am planning to have six comparators (two LM339 quad packages) wired up to the control potentiometer to compare the potentiometer voltage to six trimmer pot voltages on the other inputs of the comparators, which then triggers mosfets which power the high power leds.
This is obviously an un-elegant hybrid solution from someone who doesn't know programming. I am sure there must be a way to do this all in the software. I am hoping someone here can show me the way. I have had an arduino starter kit lying around for years but never had the time to learn arduino code and for years have waited for a project that requires me to learn and use it. The problem is that time is always lacking and I can always think of an analogue ( if Heath-Robinson) way of solving the problem whereas I may not get the code to work in time.
I have done a quick search of threads but I haven't found anything simillar enough. I would apreciate any help you guys can give me.

After you read the value of the pot, make 6 comparisons, and control LEDs in response....

something like this (where 'reading' is the variable you stored the analogRead() result in, and LED1 is whatever pin you have the LED on)

if (reading > 170) {
digitalWrite(LED1,1);
} else {
digitalWrite(LED1,0);
}

I am using an arduino uno with the ‘knob’ sketch to move the servo which drives the pointer.

Why not drive a real moving coil meter from a PWM output with a load resistor?
It’ll look a lot quicker and more realistic than a servo.