Code Issues Switching I2C Channels; Arduino UNO, Tca9548A and Multiple OLEDs

Hi All,

Long time reader, first time poster. I’m getting into more “above novice” Arduino coding and having troubles. I’ll preface to ask that you please go easy on me :slight_smile: I’m an Engineer, fabricator, and work on electrical systems for a living, but am new to the world of Micro-controllers and coding.

I’m starting the base for a future project that will involve 6 OLED screens, but I’m just trying to understand the Multiplexing first with just two. I can get a single OLED to display text, graphics, etc. no problem via I2C. However, I got a TCA 9548A multiplexer and am trying to get my code to work with poor results. I can make a single OLED turn on by changing all of the addresses to that channel on the TCA9548A, but then all of the text goes to that OLED and is mashed together! I have searched and tried different code for over a week now and am at my wits end. If I put in the code as it is pasted here, usually nothing is displayed at all, unless I try to reset the Arduino several times.

Below is my code, I’m simply trying to get the two OLEDs to display text but am coming up short. Any help? What am I missing? All of the examples I find are for U8GLIB, etc, and I am just trying to stick with the adafruit GFX libraries for now because that’s what I know and it’s easy. I don’t need to introduce more new things into my code before I get multiplexing to work ; )

Thanks in advance!

//Simple code to test the TCA9548A with two OLEDS
#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_GFX.h>
#include <Adafruit_SSD1305.h>
#include <Fonts/FreeSansBold18pt7b.h>
#include <Fonts/FreeSansBold24pt7b.h>
#include <math.h> 

//We then need to define the pins we are using on the Arduino
#define OLED_RESET 9
#define TCAADDR 0x70

void tcaselect(uint8_t i) {
  if (i > 7) return;

Wire.beginTransmission(TCAADDR);
  Wire.write(1 << i);
  Wire.endTransmission();
}

//Initialize the displays