Code needed for my project

Hello, this is my first post.

I’m brand new to arduino and have been at my first project for over a week now... staying up late... reading books... and still can’t get my project done.

I’m excited to learn much more but I’m now desperate for help... I need my project to work before a party coming up and I’m up against the clock.

MY PROJECT:

I have a 4-channel relay. I also have a magnetic door switch. I have a sketch that I can get to play through when the door is open BUT, If the door is still open after the sketch plays through, I don’t want it to loop again.

I want to open the door to trigger the sketch, then absolutely nothing happens again UNTIL the door has SHUT again and then opens again, which would trigger the sketch to play through once again.

For now the way I have it, of course arduino sees that when the switch is triggered it plays through the sketch.. but if the door is still open it sees the switch triggered and plays through again and again because the door is still open.

I’d pull my hair out but I don’t wanna lose any more of it. I’ve tried so many different codes and functions and 1)don’t know what I’m doing yet and 2)haven’t achieved my goal.

I’d be so thankful if anyone could post some code to get my sketch to work properly with the magnetic door switch. I can get the relays to do their thing just fine.. it’s the switch that’s my worst enemy right now. Need arduino to know not to keep looping if the door hasn’t been shut again yet.

Please help :frowning:

You need to detect when the door becomes open rather than when it is open

Look at the StateChangeDetection example in the IDE to see how to do it

Thank you for pointing me in that direction. Hours and hours later, still can’t get it to work. Don’t understand it at all yet.