Code needed for reed switch RPM tach

Giday Mates,

I’m trying to hack up some code to drive my arduino uno tachometer. I’m new to electronics and code writing. I’ve been lurking here for a few months but haven’t found exactly what I need.
I want to measure the rpm of a pulse motor. It has 4 south facing magnets around the drum and I’m trying to use an independent reed switch to send the signal to the arduino and have it display on the lcd.

This link is of the circuit diagram that I used. http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-Skateboard-Speedometer/step2/The-Electronics/
I built the circuit and when I went to get the code and the link was broken… :0

If some one could help with my sketch I would greatly appreciate it. I don’t understand about half of it, It’s a whole new language to me, but you got to start somewhere. I found another sketch which used an IR LED, I figured I could mod it for a reed switch but didn’t work. I get RPM = 29 on the lcd but it doesn’t change when the motor is spun. I thought there would be analogRead() in there somewhere but I need to list another library for that to happen I think?

// include the library code:
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);
int reedswitch = A0;               // IR LED connected to digital pin 13
volatile byte rpmcount;
unsigned int rpm;
unsigned long timeold;

void rpm_fun()
 {
   //Each rotation, this interrupt function is run twice, so take that into consideration for 
   //calculating RPM
   //Update count
      rpmcount++;
 }

void setup() {
  // set up the LCD's number of columns and rows: 
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
   attachInterrupt(0, rpm_fun, FALLING);

//Turn on IR LED
   pinMode(reedswitch, INPUT);
   digitalWrite(reedswitch, LOW);

rpmcount = 0;
   rpm = 0;
   timeold = 0;
 }

void loop(){

//Update RPM every second
   delay(500);
   //Don't process interrupts during calculations
   detachInterrupt(0);