Code not iterating - aquaium light project

Good morning...newbie alert...fresh meat!!!! :rofl:

I am designing a lighting system that will simulate the sun and moon. Don't know if it will go over and aquarium or aquaponics bed yet. I'm new to Arduino but not to astronomical computing.

void loop() {
  while ((now - last_time) < 1000 ){ // set to 60000 for 1 minute 
    now = millis();
    double now1 = now / 10000;
    double last_time = now1; // prepare for next loop 
  }
  float Lat = 44.654392;
  float LatR = .779366;
  float TD = 57.295780;
  float TR = .017453;
  //46 STEP 2
  double dSb = 172;
  double dSb1 = dSb + last_time;
  double D1 = (2021 - 2010) * 365.242189;
  double D2 = D1 + dSb1;
  Serial.print("dSb ");
  Serial.println(dSb, 8);
  Serial.print("dSb1 = ");
  Serial.println(dSb1, 8);
  Serial.print("Days since 2010 epoch: ");
  Serial.println(D2, 8);
  //46 STEP 3
  double ND = (360/365.242189) * D2;

First, I'm telling the arduino to pause for roughly 1 second (I know there are better ways and have a couple RTC's on order).
Then my latitude in degrees and radians followed by conversion numbers (radians to degrees = TD) and (degrees to radians = TR).
dSb = days Since beginning of the year...also known as day of the year...range from 1 to 365...172 corresponds to June 21 (Summer Solstice or largest amount of light day of the year)
D1 is the calculation for number of days since 1/1/2010 and this gets added to dSb to give me a total day number (D2).

dSb1 is the problem. When I print to the Serial Monitor...it reports that dSb is 172.00000000 (TRUE) but reports that dSb1 = 0.00000000 (FALSE)????? It should be 172.10000000.........