Code or Equipment Problem

Hey guys,

I'm a little new to coding, and I'm trying to create a dart game scoreboard. Long story short, I need one button to light up 3 different LED's; one by itself, then two, then all three all together. I am wondering if this could be done by an regular push button, if it can be done by messing around with the coding, or if you had any other suggestions on how to get this done.

That could easily be done with a button and a state machine that chosses the state based on the button push count. Look at the state change detection example in the IDE and there are numerous state machine tutorials.

That sounds like a great introductory project for an Arduino. You are going to learn very quickly by starting with something like that.

First, you need some hardware: a button and 3 lights. LEDs are the easiest lights but you do need a resistor for each LED. 220 ohms is a good value to start with - less ohms will make the LED brighter. Connect each LED+resistor to one Arduino pin and ground. Connect the button between a fourth Arduino pin and ground.

Start with the example ‘blink’ sketch. See if you can make each LED blink on its own. Make them all blink together.

Next check your button is working - change the sketch to read the input pin and turn on the LEDs when it is pushed down.

The next part jumps in difficulty: detecting a button-push event. The reason this is difficult is that real buttons ‘bounce’ and you can get 5-50 on+off cycles when your finger hits the button. For something this simple, a simple time delay will work. After you detect that the button has been pushed, then delay a few milliseconds before looking at the button input again.

Start hacking on the blink sketch and post your code here if you have any problems.

josh-s: Hey guys,