Code or "Routine" Improvement and Assistance

Hello all. I am new to the C programming language and am having a hard time with writing a routine to perform a task with my arduino. I have posted the code below. I have tried searching and helping myself as is suggested in the "how to use this forum" guide. When I read the examples, forum posts, and reference material what I read makes sense to me most of the time, but I don't know how to apply it in my code. I know this is "my problem" but I don't know how to fix it other than asking for assistance.

My specific set up is a heat treat oven that has pneumatically operated doors and a winch system (referred to as "elevator"). I am attempting to use the arduino to replace an aged obsolete control that quit working. I replaced all the wire from the switches with shielded wire. I have the shield drains connected to earth ground. The buttons are wired from the input pin of the arduino to the arduino ground. I am using the "INPUT_PULLUP" method to use the internal pullup resistors. The outputs are wired to two generic "8 Relay" boards that are common on amazon using the analog pins (as digital pins) A0-A15 (low enables the relay). The door solenoids and the up / down functions of the elevator are all controlled by these relays. I have the manual functions of the system working properly. These are door open, door close, elevator up, and elevator down. There is likely room for improvement in my code there as well, and I appreciate all feedback. What I am having trouble with is the automatic functions of the elevator. The first one that I tried to program is the elevator to furnace function. The flow should go as follows.

The operator presses the "To Furnace" button. (Input Pin 26 == LOW).
The status of the elevator at furnace switch is checked (Input 34).
If the switch is made(34 == LOW), do nothing (the elevator is already at furnace).
If the switch is not made(34==HIGH)
Open the furnace doors. (A10 == HIGH, A11 == LOW)