Code to read differential ADC values on Tiny84

Hi,
I’ve searched high and low for examples on how to set the registers correctly then read the values for differential ADC. Unfortunately differential ADC seems to be rarely used, the only examples I’ve found are for the Mega. I’m not too good at deciphering the Atmel datasheets, but on page 133 of the datasheet it explains which registers to set and how to read them. If anyone could give an example of how to actually set the registers appropriately, that’d be great.

Thankyou!
-Eli

You first. Post your attempt.

How to set a register?

someregister = somevalue;

“someregister” is just the name of the register given in the datasheet, e.g. if the datasheet says PINB, then “someregister” would be PINB.

“somevalue” can be simply an integer such as 0xff, 128, 0b10101010, or it could be a variable. You can build integers in a more readable fashion by doing things such as:

PORTB = (1<<PORTB1) | (1<<PORTB0);

This would set bits PORTB1 and PORTB0 in the PORTB register, and clear all other bits in that register.

Page 146 (Table 16-5) of the datasheet for example shows you the MUX[5:0] values for selecting differential channels. These bits are set in the ADMUX register, so an example would be:

ADMUX = (0b00 << REFS0) | (0b101000 << MUX0); //select VCC as reference and PA0/PA1 as the differential channel

If you look at the register descriptions in the datasheet, all bits have been given a name. These bits have corresponding names in avr-libc.

Thankyou both for your replies, I had a feeling someone would say “You first” :stuck_out_tongue: I did have a good poke around, but due to not really understanding the MUX[5:0] bit, which I now do slightly more (thanks for pointing out that table Tom C, I missed it before), I didn’t know where to start. I tried printing the contents of the ADMUX register to see what was in it, but it was just zero. Probably because I hadn’t set it to do anything yet… :smiley: