Code verification

Hi all, I'm new to electronics as well as C/C++ and I'm looking to use Arduino R3 with Ethernet shield for a little home automation project.

I purchased my first Arduino kit yesterday but got anxious and started writing some codes now.
As I am unable to test the codes with a real Arduino just yet, I wanted someone from the community to verify whether the following codes would work for having 2 switch (Arduino as 1 switch and a 2 path switch as a second switch)

Void setup() {
pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
pinMode(12, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
if (serial.available() >0) {
int inByte = serial.read();

switch (inbyte) {
case "a" :
IF(12 > 0) {
digitalWrite(13,high);
digitalWrite(12,low);
break;
  }
IF(13 > 0) {
digitalWrite(13,low);
digitalWrite(12,high);
break;
  }
    }
  }
}

You may not have the hardware yet, but that is no excuse for not making sure that the code at least compiles. It doesn't. Fix those issues, and try again.

IF(13 > 0) {

Are there some values of 13 that might not be greater than 0?

Your right my apologies for my hastiness,

I took bits and bobs from other codes but didn't realise the language was case sensitive :blush:

I dashed it into the Arduino compiler and sorted that out.

as for the "if" statement I had assumed that low represented 0. I changed it to 13>12 so it will decide based both pin outputs now.

void setup() {
pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
pinMode(12, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
digitalWrite(12, LOW);
}

void loop() {
if (Serial.available() >0) {
int inByte = Serial.read();

switch (inByte) {
case 'a' :
if(12 > 13) {
digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
digitalWrite(12, LOW);
break;
  }
else {
digitalWrite(13, LOW);
digitalWrite(12, HIGH);
break;
  }
    }
  }
}

if(12 > 13)

That can never be.... do you mean the values of pins 12 & 13?

I changed it to 13>12 so it will decide based both pin outputs now.