Code won't work on one computer but will on another.

I’m new to this so please bare with me. I have an issue running a program I wrote. It won’t work on both my work and home computers. However the program ran just fine on my coworkers computer. The program takes an input through the serial monitor and turns on a specified LED. If I type “red” the red LED should come on. This is not what’s happening however on my computer. The input doesn’t turn the LED on. It recognizes I put in an input and loops back and asks me which color I want again in the serial monitor. My coworker added a little bit of code to read back if the pins are working or not(1=on 0=off). They all read (0) on my computer. I attached the code.

Based on a YouTube tutorial using this exact setup(which works for the guy in the video). The whole setup is controlled through the computer using the serial monitor in Arduino IDE. The circuit is simple. 3 LED’s that each have a connector from their own separate pins to resistors to a LED to a common ground. I’ll post a picture when I get home if it’s helpful. The Arduino is hooked up with a standard USB cable through the front of my computer. When I tested the circuit on my coworkers computer it was the same exact setup. Walked it over from my desk so no variance there. Also we are both using Arduino IDE.

Before I get asked them I’ll answer the obvious questions I’ll surely get. In case you didn’t read it, yes the circuits are correct. I tested them with a different program that just blinks all the lights at once(from my computer). Yes I checked that I’m using the right port when I send the code to the Arduino.

The link below is the video I was using the tutorial for this program.

RGB_Example.ino (1002 Bytes)

What about the line ending setting in the serial monitor? Is it set to "none"?

Have you checked that the serial monitor is set to the correct com port? It can be different from the com port used by the IDE.

The baud rate is set correctly?