Coding Help

I want to gradually turn off 4 motors after a certain amount of time. I want the void loop to keep going to 5 minutes before gradually turning off the motors (they slow down). How do I do this? Thanks!

What kind of motors ? Little toy DC motors ? airplane turbine engines ? stepper motors ? ion thruster ?
What do you use for a driver ? A shield or a driver board ? What board ?
What is the project about ?

There are libraries for timing events, there are also libraries for stepper motor libraries with automatic ramp. You could also program it yourself.

Start by taking a look at the Blink Without Delay.

I am using a DC motor. I am new to arduino, so I am not sure what you mean by what 'driver' I used. I a going to attach it strait to the board without a shield if that's what you are asking.

I am using a DC motor.

Since we didn't figure you were driving an AC motor, that doesn't help at all. What voltage? What amperage?

I a going to attach it strait to the board without a shield if that's what you are asking.

It was, and no, you probably aren't.

Generally, a motor will draw too much current to be powered from the arduino directly and you will likely damage the arduino if you try. Take a look at this schematic from the playground: Arduino Playground - HomePage. It shows you how to wire up a solenoid, but the same thing applies to a DC motor.

It is a max of 3.7v, so I don't think it will damage the arduino, will it? I am going to be using PWM anyway. I don't think I am ever going to use the full 3.7v

It is a max of 3.7v, so I don't think it will damage the arduino, will it? I am going to be using PWM anyway. I don't think I am ever going to use the full 3.7v

So, you intend to apply 5V at next to no current to a motor that expects no more than 3.7V at significant current. OK. It's your motor and your Arduino. Feel free to abuse them both. When you get new ones, though, don't abuse them.

Won't PWM allow for a lower voltage?

No.