Coin Counter V1

So I started with the coding made by Michael Illingby “Micheali”, I changed it to fit the criteria my teacher gave me for our “Final Project”. I 3D designed a machine that would automatically sort and count the coins. Now I need to finallize the code and put the finished arduino into the machine. The original code has the coin detection system set up for switches, I was wanting to put IR sensor modules to detect the coins. If that would be too dificult let me know and I’m open to other suggestions. I was also hoping the display would be able to show the total amount of money in the machine as well as being able to click a button and it will display the number of each coin in the machine (EX ~ Total $2.27 Click Botton P-2 N-5 D-10 Q-5). I’m very new to arduino and I tried my best to make the code work but I was unable to make it work, I was really hoping someone would be able to help me fix it because not even my teacher knows how…

/*
Coin Counter by Mitchell Moriarty 2018

Pins defined below.

Scope of project: After sorting coins, and having them fall past a trigger that closes to ground, count the 
coin, and then add it's value to a running total.
*/

#include <Wire.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27, 2, 1, 0, 4, 5, 6, 7, 3, POSITIVE);  // Set the LCD I2C address

// this constant won't change:
const int  coin1Pin = 2;   // the pin that the 1 pushcoin is attached to
const int  coin5Pin = 3;    // the pin that the 5 pushcoin is attached to
const int  coin10Pin = 4;     // the pin that the 10 pushcoin is attached to
const int  coin25Pin = 5;     // the pin that the 25 pushcoin is attached to
const int  led1 = 6;       // the pin that the Penny LED is attached to
const int  led5 = 7;        // the pin that the Nickle LED is attached to
const int  led10 = 8;       // the pin that the Dime LED is attached to
const int  led25 = 9;        // the pin that the Quarter LED is attached to

// Variables will change: